02 October, 2018

by Updated on 02 October, 2018 Leave a Comment

How to Delete Your Skype Account

Skype used to be simple, clean and very easy to use, which is precisely what the users needed – and still do. Ever since Microsoft acquired Skype in 2011, it has become complex and confusing, ruining the experience. What’s more, Microsoft recently ended support for the “classic” version of the software.

Skype has lost its competitive edge, as there are many similar services out there, such as Facebook Messenger for daily use, Telegram for safety, and Slack for business. They are much more intuitive than Skype, so people are fully embracing them and increasingly deleting their Skype accounts.
If you want to delete your Skype account too, you should know that this will erase your entire Microsoft account as well, because Skype is linked to all Microsoft accounts. If you still want to go through with it, all you need to do is take the following steps.

Deleting Your Skype Account on Desktop

1. Click on your profile icon in the upper-left corner.

2. Choose the “Account and profile” tab in the pop-up settings menu.

3. Click on the “Close your account” option. Here, you will need to verify your identity by re-entering your password and providing a verification code that you will receive via email or SMS if you have opted for it earlier.

4. A window will pop up, providing you with instructions for disabling certain settings for other Microsoft accounts you may have. If you find the instructions relevant, follow them and then click “Next.”

5. Another window will pop up, informing you about all your other Microsoft accounts that will also be closed upon removing your Skype account. Go through the checklist and see the drop-down menu to select a reason for deleting your account. When you’re done, click on the “Mark account for closure” button.

When you complete all the steps, your account will still not be deleted. This is because Microsoft lets you change your mind by providing you with 30 days to do so. If you don’t, your Skype account will be deleted permanently after that period, together with your entire Microsoft account.

Deleting Your Skype Account on Mobile

1. Tap on your profile icon located in the top center of the app.

2. Select the gear icon in the upper-right corner to open your settings menu.

3. Choose the “Account and profile” tab from the settings menu.

4. Tap on the “Close your account” option. Once you do, you will need to verify your identity, which includes typing your password and a verification code that you’ve received via email or SMS.

5. Once you verify your identity, you will be asked to read the instructions for canceling subscriptions. Follow the instructions if they are relevant to you and then tap “Next.”

6. Read through the checklist to make sure you fully understand that other Microsoft accounts will be deleted together with your Skype account. Once you finish, select a reason for quitting Skype and select “Mark account for closure.”

You will be provided with a waiting period of 30 days so that you can continue using your account if you happen to change your mind. If you don’t, Microsoft will permanently delete it.

How to Delete Skype Conversations and Messages

If you’re not ready to say goodbye to Skype just yet but only want to delete a conversation or a message, you can do so by following these steps. Have in mind that you will delete your conversations only on your devices, as the other person will still have them.

Deleting a Skype Conversation

1. Desktop: right-click on the conversation you want to delete and then select “Delete chat.”

2. Mobile: tap on the “Chats” tab, hold down your finger on the conversation you want to delete and simply choose “Delete chat.”

Deleting a Skype Message

1. Desktop: click on the left-hand column to find the conversation with the message you want to delete. Hover your mouse over the message and click on the three small dots and select “Remove.”

2. Mobile: tap on the “Chats” tab to find the conversation with the message you wish to delete. Hold down your finger on the message and tap “Remove” when a menu pops up.

Join The Newsletter. Please enter your email address:

About The Author
Passionate Technology Blogger. Not a profession. Find only real life useful and simplified Tech articles, How-To's on TopTrix.
Related Posts :

0 comments:

Post a Comment